Organizing Committee

Chief Patron

Dr. Sandhia G S (Principal)

Members

Dr. Santhosh G (HOD Physics)

Dr. Sajeev D

Smt. Deepthi S Nair

Sri. Aneesh Kumar R

Dr. Sumithranand V B (Programme Coordinator)

Sri. Ignatius J

Dr. Shabna R

Sarath Kumar M S

Preetha S

Veena V K

Binju Raichel Baby

Bibia Alif

Jerin Thomas

Archana P J

Advisory Committee

Dr. Jolly Bose R.

Principal, BJM Government College,

Chavara, Kollam, Kerala

Dr. Madhu G.

Associate Professor, Department of Physics,

University College, Thiruvananthapuram

Contact Details

Dr. Sumithranand V. B. (Coordinator, NSRTP 2023)

Phone: 9495243047

Mail at: sumithranand@gmail.com

Registration

Please use the link below:

https://forms.gle/ys3HUEXDmjic9dSr7

or

Scan the QR Code





GOVERNMENT COLLEGE KARIAVATTOM DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS

Two Days National Seminar on

RECENT TRENDS IN PHYSICS (NSRTP 2023)

November 2 - 3, 2023 Venue: Seminar Hall, Administrative Block

Sponsored by

Directorate of Collegiate Education, Government of Kerala

Website: http://govtcollegekariavattom.ac.in
Mail us at: gckphysics2023@gmail.com

Dear Sir/Madam,

The Department of Physics, Government College Kariavattom, Thiruvananthapuram is organizing a National Seminar on 'Recent Trends in Physics". The seminar will be held on November 2-3, 2023 at the Seminar Hall, Administrative Block, Government College Kariavattom. We solicit the presence and participation from your esteemed institution.

ABOUT THE PROGRAMME

Physics has always been one of the most important driving forces behind the technological advancement mankind has achieved. So, it is imperative that the teachers and the research scholars working in Physics attain familiarity with recent advancement and development across a wide spectrum of topics in Physics. Department of Physics intends to bring together experts in different fields in Physics working within the country with the aim of sharing recently acquired knowledge among the research scholars and the teachers.

ABOUT THE COLLEGE & DEPARTMENT

The College started out in 1993 as the Annexure of the undergraduate wing of the University College, Thiruvananthapuram. Later during 1997, these courses were shifted back and the college was renamed as Government College, Kariavattom with new under graduate courses in the Choice Based Credit and Semester Scheme (CBCSS) of University of Kerala. The college offers seven undergraduate, two postgraduate and one doctoral Programme across various disciplines.

Being a frontrunner in both academic and extracurricular areas is a remarkable achievement for the Research and Post Graduate Department of Physics at our college. It reflects the department's commitment to excellence, a well-rounded approach to education, and a vibrant learning environment. Many of our alumni are currently working in reputed research centres and educational institutions around the world. The Department of Physics offers a career-related B.Sc. Physics and Computer Application course and post graduate programme in Physics. The department has been a recognized Research Centre in Physics under University of Kerala since 2021.

DR. SUMITHRANAND V B
COORDINATOR

DR. SANTHOSH G. HOD PHYSICS

DR. SANDHIA G.S PRINCIPAL

PROGRAMME SCHEDULE

Day 1: 02/11/2023 Thursday

09.00 am to 09.15 am Registration

09.15 am to 09.30 am Inaugural Session

09.30 am to 11.00 am Session 1 - Data-driven Dynamics

Prof. G. Ambika, Emeritus Professor,

Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER) TVM

11.00 am to 11.10 am Tea Break

11.10 am to 12.40 pm Session 2 - Introduction to Topological Phases of Matter (Part 1)

Dr Amal Medhi, Associate Professor,

School of Physics, IISER Thiruvananthapuram

12.40 pm to 01.30 pm Lunch Break

01.30 pm to 03.00 pm Session 3 - Introduction to Topological Phases of Matter (Part 2)

Dr Amal Medhi, Associate Professor,

School of Physics, IISER Thiruvananthapuram

03.00 pm to 03.10 pm Tea Break

03.10 pm to 04.30 pm Paper Presentation Session

Day 2: 03/11/2023 Friday

09.30 am to 11.00 am Session 4 - Nano Materials - Why they are important?

Dr. V. Biju, Professor and Head,

Department of Physics, University of Kerala

11.00 am to 11.10 am Tea Break

11.10 am to 12.40 pm Session 5 - Nano Materials - Characterization

Dr. V. Biju, Professor and Head,

Department of Physics, University of Kerala

12.40 pm to 01.20 pm Lunch Break

01.20 pm to 02.50 pm Session 6 - The Science and Technology of Thin Films

Dr. R Jayakrishnan, Associate Professor,

Department of Physics, University of Kerala

02.50 pm to 03.00 pm Tea Break

03.00 pm to 04.30 pm Session 7 - Optoelectronic Characterization of Thin Films

Dr. R Jayakrishnan, Associate Professor, Department of Physics, University of Kerala

04.30 pm to 05.00 pm Valedictory Function